Tennis is an individual sport,

which is exactly why it is essential to have the right team of people around you. We understand that good coaching goes far beyond the work on the court. Our goal is that every player in the academy receives every opportunity to imoprove him/her self physically, mentally, technically or socially. Our main priority is the personality of each and every player of the academy. For that we have a perfect mix of coaches.

Christopher Spencer

Chris is the foundation father of the Spencer&Spencer tennis academy in TVN Leistungszentrum Essen. Since 2008, the Spencer Academy moved to Düsseldorf and since then academy works together with TG Nord eV. Alongside building and managing the academy, Chris also played a key role in development of ATP player and German U18 Champion Peter Torebko as well as WTA player, numerous German Champion and Porsche talent team member Katharina Gerlach. Katharina used to train in the academy since her childhood and as to date still very much connected to us. For many years Chris worked together with Nick Bollettieri in Bradenton/Florida for NBTA and IMG. With a „work/play-program“ Chris was leading NBTA projects for IMG academy in Austria and Germany, before he came up with a decision to open his own academy. Chris is a die hard fan of the Star Wars series and uses every given opportunity to bring the force into the training sessions.

Dan Prokeš

Dan is an ex-NCAA Div 1 player for NSU Spartans in Norfolk. As a junior he was a top 100 in the Czech Republic, later moved to the United States for his college years. After finishing his B.A. in English creative writing, he worked as an assistant coach on the team. Dan came to Spencer Tennis from Berlin and brings a lots of international experience and a little bit of a different, fresh approach to a tennis training. He is a total sports fanatic who always tries new ideas from other sports, which he then incorporates into his training sessions..

Nicole Liedtke

Nicole started at the academy in 2019. She is certified tennis coach with B-license and has large experience working with kids and adults. The 50 old is part of the KHTC Mülheim in Regionalliga as well as numerous German Championships 40+45. She also part of the tennis World Cup member. For Nicole is quite important to work in a team amongst other professionals. She brings plenty of tennis experience and expertise.

Dmitry Vizhunov

Dmitry started playing tennis when he was 4 years old. Tennis is his passion. During his junior career he was trained by Chris at the Spencer academy in Essen. He was able to reach the top of the ranking (U12) and constantly held his positions in top 10 untill U18 in Russia. Later on, he played NCAA division 1 College tennis for Temple University team in Philadelphia/Pennsylvania. Besides his coaching job, Dmitry is continuing actively to play tennis in 1 Verbandsliga Niederrhein. He is continuing his education towards masters in Energy and Finance at the Duisburg-Essen University and apart his native language (Russian) fluent in English and German.

Stephanie Scheer

Since 2009 Steffi began working for Spencer tennis academy while she was finishing her studies at the university of applied science for sports management with concentration on sports club and association management (2010). She is the heart and soul of the academy’s management. Steffi is responsible for administration and coordination of time scheduling for players and coaches. She is dealing with all „off court“ related problems, so that coaches can primarily focus on their player on the court. Stephanie is the middle man between tennis academy and the club. Besides her full time job she is still actively playing tennis.

René Derveaux

Rene is mental - and tennis coach with USTA license and doctor title in philosophy, sociology, psychology from Duisburg - Essen University. He is always able to motivate and enhancement performance. Rene is still actively playing in the 1. Verbandsliga. As a coach he is able to combine his knowledge to inspire and trigger players to achieve their highest performance.

Aram Kocharyan

Aram is devoted tennis coach with a lot of drive and never-gave-up mindset. As a junior player (U12, U14, U16, U18) he reached Nr. 1 position in Moldavia. He also participated in International Junior Circuit TE, ETA, ITF and climbed to whithin the top 200. Participant of ETA-finals 2010/2012. Aram is certified PTR-, FTM- und ITF-Coach with more the 10 years of experience under his belt. As for today he is playing in the 1. Verbandsliga. Years of experience on the tour as a player as well as a coach and active tennis player allows him to follow modern tennis trends. For two years he was coaching and supervising two WTA players (600 and 800 WTA ranking). As a coach he was able to collect experience in Moldavia Ukraine, Sweden, Italy, Poland and now in Germany. Aram has a Bachelor of Science and Master of Applied Science degrees. He speaks six languages, four of which fluently.

Tennis ist ein Einzelsport und für Individualisten

Auf Grund dessen ist es wichtig ein gutes Team um sich zu haben.

Im Team erfolgreich und stark zu sein, aber auch wenn es mal nicht so gut läuft einen Rückhalt zu haben. Dies gilt für uns als Coaches genauso, wie für jeden Leistungsspieler und Clubspieler.
Unsere Verantwortung geht weit über das Tennistraining an sich hinaus. Wir haben es uns zur Aufgabe gemacht, dass jeder Spieler, der bei uns in der Academy trainiert jede Entwicklungsmöglichkeit bekommt, sei es physisch oder mental, technisch, taktisch oder sozial.
Bei unseren Coaches steht der Spieler als Persönlichkeit im Vordergrund!

Christopher Spencer

Chris ist Mitbegründer (1999) der Spencer & Spencer Tennis Academy im TVN Leistungszentrum Essen. 2008 ging er mit TG Nord eV eine Partnerschaft ein und brachte die Academy nach Düsseldorf. Neben dem Aufbau und der Weiterentwicklung der Academy, lag sein Hauptaugenmerk auf der Entwicklung von Spielern wie Peter Torebko (ATP Spieler und deutscher U18 Jugendmeister) und Katharina Gerlach (WTA Spielerin, mehrfache deutsche Jugendmeisterin und Mitglied des Porsche Talent Teams), die seit ihrer Kindheit in der Academy trainiert haben. Er war lange Jahre für die Nick Bollettieri Tennis Academy (NBTA) und IMG tätig. Der gebürtige Engländer begann bei Bollettieri in Bradenton/Florida, in einem "work/play-Programm" und leitete nach einigen Jahren bereits NBTA-Projekte für IMG in Österreich und Deutschland, bevor er sich mit seiner eigenen Tennis Academy selbständig machte

Dan Prokeš

Der Tscheche spielt seit seinem 7. Lebensjahr Tennis. Während seiner Jugend war er Top 100 in seinem Land. Mit 20 ist Dan nach Amerika gegangen um dort College Tennis zu spielen. Er spielte in der NCAA Div. 1. an der Norfolk State Universtity für die NSU Spartans. Nachdem er die Universität abgeschlossen hatte, arbeitete er als Assistant Coach für sein ehemaliges College Team. Dan ist mit seiner professionellen Einstellung und internationalen Erfahrung eine große Bereicherung für das Academy Team.

Nicole Liedtke

Nicole gehört seit Januar 2019 zum Team. Die gebürtige Essenerin ist staatlich geprüfte Tennislehrerin und B-Trainerin. Sie verfügt über jahrelange Erfahrung im Kinder- und Erwachsenenbereich und ist selber noch aktiv tätig. Die 49-jährige spielt in der Regionalliga beim KHTC Mülheim und hat mehrfach die Deutschen Meisterschaften in der Altersklasse 40+45 gewonnen und das Deutsche Team bei der Tennis WM vertreten. Für Nicole ist es wichtig in einem professionellen Team zu arbeiten bei dem das Herz am richtigen Fleck sitzt.

Dmitry Vizhunov

Dmitry begann im Alter von 4 Jahren Tennis zu spielen. In seiner Jugend trainierte er bereits bei Chris in der Academy in Essen. Er erreichte im Juniorenbereich die TOP 10 in Russland. Später spielte er für das Temple University Tennis Team in der NCAA Division 1 in Philadelphia. Neben seinem Trainerjob ist er jedoch auch noch selber aktiv und spielt in der 1. Verbandsliga Niederrhein. Dmitry studiert an der Universität Duisburg-Essen Finanzen und Energiewirtschft und spricht neben russisch auch fließend deutsch und englisch.

Stephanie Scheer

Steffi gehört seit Anfang 2009 zum festen Team der Spencer Tennis Academy. Steffi ist das Herz und die Seele der Verwaltung der Academy. Sie ist für alle administrativen Tätigkeiten verantwortlich und koordiniert die Zeitpläne der Spieler und Trainer, hat stets ein offenes Ohr für die Sorgen der Eltern und hält zudem unseren Trainern den Rücken frei. Steffi ist die Schnittstelle zwischen Academy und Verein. Ihr Studium an der Fachhochschule für angewandtes Management, Sportmanagement mit dem Schwerpunkt Vereins- und Verbandsmanagement hat sie 2010 abgeschlossen. Neben diesem Full Time Job, spielt sie selbst seit Jahren aktiv Tennis.

René Derveaux

Mental – und Tenniscoach, U.S.T.A. - Lizenz, Studium d. Philosophie, Soziologie, Psychologie an der Universität Essen/Duisburg Dipl. Sozialwissenschafter / M.A. phil. Coach für nachhaltige Motivation und Leistungssteigerung. Spieler der 1. Verbandsliga. Als Coach an der praktischen und theoretischen Verbindung von Wirtschaft und Sport aktiv ,um Menschen zu be-wegen.

Aram Kocharyan

Aram ist ein sehr leidenschaftlicher Trainer mit viel Drive und Never Give Up-Einstellung. Als Spieler durchlief er Höhen und Tiefen. In seiner Juniorenkarriere erreichte er in den Kategorien U12,14,16,18 die Position Nr. 1 in Moldawien. Teilnahme im internationalen Junioren Circuit: TE, ETA, ITF U12, U14, U16 (Top 200). Teilnahme an der ETA-Finalmeisterschaft 2010/2012. Er ist ein zertifizierter PTR-, FTM- und ITF-Coach mit mehr als 10 Jahren Erfahrung und war ein Teil des Davis Cup Teams. Bis heute ist er als Spieler selbst aktiv und spielt in der 1. Verbandsliga. Die jahrelange Erfahrung auf der Tour als Spieler, als Profi-Trainer, Junior-Trainer und noch als aktiver Spieler ermöglicht es ihm neue Trends in der Tenniswelt zu verfolgen. Er coachte, tourte und betreute zwei Jahre mehrere WTA-Spielerinnen (600-800-Rangliste). Seine Coaching-Stationen waren unter anderem in Moldawien, Ukraine, Schweden, Italien, Polen und jetzt in Deutschland. Aram besitzt den Bachelor of Science und Master in Angewandten Wissenschaften, spricht sechs Sprachen, von denen vier fließend.